Gretchen Archer

Author of
  • Double Whammy
    Henery, 2012 / Amazon 2018
  • Double Dip
    Henery, 2013 / Amazon, 2019
  • Double Strike
    Henery, 2014
  • Double Mint
    Henery, 2015
  • Double Knot
    Henery, 2016
  • Double Up
    Henery, 2017
  • Double Dog Dare
    Henery, 2018
  • Double Agent
    Henery, 2019

Gretchen Archer is a Tennessee housewife who began writing fiction when her daughters, seeking higher educations, ran off and left her. She lives on Lookout Mountain with her husband and son. She’s the author of the bestselling Davis Way Crime Caper Series.

Books by Gretchen

Double Whammy

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #1

Davis Way thinks she’s hit the jackpot when she lands a job as the fifth wheel on an elite security team at the fabulous Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. But once there, she runs straight into her ex-ex husband, a rigged slot machine, her evil twin, and a trail of dead bodies. Davis learns the truth and it does not set her free—in fact, it lands her in the pokey. Buried under a mistaken identity, her hot streak runs cold until her landlord Bradley Cole steps in. Make that her landlord, lawyer, and love interest. With his help, Davis must win this high stakes game before her luck runs out.

Praise for Double Whammy

Archer navigates a satisfyingly complex plot and injects plenty of humor as she goes. This madcap debut is a winning hand for fans of Janet Evanovich and Deborah Coonts.

Library Journal

If Scout Finch and Carl Hiaasen had a baby, it would be Davis [Way]. Double Whammy is filled with humor and fresh, endearing characters. It's that rarest of books: a beautifully written page-turner. It's a winner!

Michael Lee West, author of Gone With a Handsomer Man

Fast-paced, snarky action set in a compelling, southern glitz-and-glamour locale. A lovable, hapless heroine Jane Jameson would be proud to know. Utterly un-put-down-able.

Molly Harper, author of the Award-Winning Nice Girls Series

With Janet Evanovich's endorsement readers can expect loads of humor and quirky characters, but they are also gifted with an extremely well-written novel and a heroine fully formed and quite complex...Expectations will be high with this debut mystery, but readers can be assured that they will be met with the very enjoyable, humorous, and exciting novel.

Kings River Life Magazine

Surrounded by an interesting cast of characters exploding with southern charm, this was a fun read full of snarky and witty banter (especially her internal dialogue) that kept me entertained as I quickly turn the pages in a book that I could not put down.

Dru Ann Love, Dru's Book Musings
Read More

Buy Double Whammy

Double Dip

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #2

It’s Davis Way’s first slot-tournament season. And it may be her last.

Things are dicey at work. A personal assistant goes missing, a little old lady goes on a suspicious winning streak, and a Bellissimo executive goes gaga for Davis. She follows a disappearing slot-tournament player trail to the So Help Me God Pentecostal Church in Beehive, Alabama, then jumps headlong into a high stakes holy scandal.

She’s on a losing streak at home, too. Her days, nights, and dinners run together, as Davis juggles a revolving door of uninvited guests, namely her rotten ex-ex-husband, Eddie Crawford. And Bradley Cole thinks three’s a crowd.

The worst? Davis doesn’t feel so hot. Maybe it’s the banana pudding, or maybe it’s a little bundle of something else.

Praise for Double Dip

A smart, snappy writer who hits your funny bone!

Janet Evanovich
Read More

Buy Double Dip

Double Strike

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #3

Bellissimo Resort and Casino Super Spy Davis Way knows three things: Cooking isn’t a prerequisite for a happy marriage, don’t trust men who look like David Hasselhoff, and money doesn’t grow on Christmas trees. None of which help when a storm hits the Gulf a week before the most anticipated event in Bellissimo history: the Strike It Rich Sweepstakes. Securing the guests, staff, and property might take a stray bullet. Or two.

Bellissimo Resort and Casino Super Spy Davis Way has three problems: She’s desperate to change her marital status, she has a new boss who speaks in hashtags, and Bianca Sanders has confiscated her clothes. All of which bring on a headache hot enough to spark a fire. Solving her problems means stealing a car. From a dingbat lawyer.

Bellissimo Resort and Casino Super Spy Davis Way has three goals: Keep the Sanders family out of prison, regain her footing in her relationship, and find the genius who wrote the software for futureGaming. One of which, the manhunt one, is iffy.

Because when Alabama hides someone, they hide them good.

Read More

Buy Double Strike

Double Mint

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #4

It’s convention season at the Bellissimo Resort and Casino and Davis Way Cole barely notices. It’s hard to pay attention when you live in a Jambalaya Junkyard. But when Special Events Coordinator Holder Darby walks off the job just as five hundred Alabama bankers pour in the front door, Davis steps up.

Not only has the convention director vanished, but a certain Bellissimo guest is missing. One who forgot to pack the million dollars he left in the bathtub. It looks like our redhead newlywed Super Secret Spy’s lazy summer is over when the Bellissimo vault is robbed. Can Davis connect the dots before it’s too late? Can she get her Taser gun back from Bianca Sanders? Will she be stuck with Eddie Crawford’s 1962 Cadillac forever? What Davis needs is a little faith. And a lot of luck.

Read More

Buy Double Mint

Double Knot

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #5

Super Spy Davis Way sets sail on a Caribbean cruise aboard the MS Probability with fifty billionaires, a boatload of Louis Vuitton luggage, Anderson Cooper, and her mother. (Her mother?)

The weather is perfect, the seas are calm, and Suite 704 is spectacular. Until the door slams shut. For good.

Obviously, it’s a system glitch. Surely someone will show up to free Davis, Miss Hawaii, and the creepy staff. But when the minutes turn to hours and the hours stretch into a day, Davis knows it’s up to her. With $50,000 in casino chips, a pot roast, and a crash course in banking, she races against the clock to determine why they’re being held, stop the people behind it, and find a way out.

Secrets are revealed, antiquities are destroyed, and they’re running out of dishes. It’s mayday on Probability when Davis Way realizes that only the truth will set her free.

Praise for Double Knot

In Archer's high-energy fifth Davis Way crime caper, the undercover security expert for the Bellissimo Casino in Biloxi, Miss., takes what's supposed to be a restful Caribbean cruise with 50 billionaires on a lavish private yacht. Davis is impersonating her pregnant boss, the famous-for-being-famous Bianca Sanders. This is supposed to be Davis's last assignment before her own maternity leave, but shortly after setting sail, Davis finds herself trapped in her palatial stateroom, along with her business partner, her nightmare of a mother, a deaf cat, two mysterious stateroom attendants, and a narcoleptic savant. The mystery of their imprisonment deepens when Davis finds an envelope taped to her mirror, warning her not to try to contact the outside world if she cares about the lives of her boss and her husband. Davis's smarts, her mad computer skills, and a plucky crew of fellow hostages drive a story full of humor and action, interspersed with moments of surprising emotional depth.

Publisher's Weekly
Read More

Buy Double Knot

Double Up

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #6

On behalf of USA TODAY bestselling author Gretchen Archer and the entire Henery Press crew, welcome aboard flight DOUBLE UP.

Fasten your seatbelts for non-stop action as stiff competition blows into town and the resulting turbulence threatens to take down the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi.

Super Secret Spy Davis Way Cole, who lives on the twenty-ninth floor of the hotel with her CEO husband and newborn twins, takes it hard. If the casino goes belly up, she won’t be a stay-at-home mom because she won’t have a home. Not to mention her husband won’t have a job.

Davis can’t find a way to stop the inevitable end of the Bellissimo life she loves until her ex-ex-mother-in-law shows up, unexpected and definitely uninvited. Davis makes the best of a bad Bea Crawford situation and recruits her for a little corporate espionage work, which would’ve been great, had Bea not turned out to be the world’s worst spy.

Ever.

Read More

Buy Double Up

Double Dog Dare

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #7

Problem #1: Bootsy Howard

Davis Way Cole lives a (relatively) quiet, (somewhat) simple, and (completely) witch-free life with her husband and twin daughters on the 29th floor of the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi. Until Bootsy Howard shows up demanding a million dollars.

Problem #2: Princess Smucker

What was marketing thinking when they booked the Southern Canine Association’s annual dog show at the Bellissimo? And what was Davis thinking when she agreed to let a dog stay with her? For a week? In her home? The home where she lives a (fairly) quiet, (reasonably) simple, and (totally) manicotti-free life?

Problem #3: Leverette Urleen, MD

The last thing Davis needs is an unsolicited house call from Pine Apple, Alabama’s latest excuse for a doctor. But since he’s there, considering she has a dead body on ice, she might as well have him determine the cause of death. Which he doesn’t. Nor is he any help finding the body when Davis loses it.

On top of all that, he won’t leave, further disrupting Davis’s (more or less) quiet, (to a certain degree) simple, and (utterly) seersucker-free life. A life that’s about to go to the dogs. Unless Davis can learn a few new tricks. Fast.

Guaranteed woofs, the best thing since the bone, take Double Dog Dare for a walk and you’re sure to unleash a treat.

Praise for Double Dog Dare

Hot diggety dog, the fur is flying in USA TODAY bestselling author Gretchen Archer’s latest. It’s not just good, it’s “Best in Show"!

Janet Evanovich
Read More

Buy Double Dog Dare

Double Agent

A Davis Way Crime Caper Book #8

On the weather front, Category Four Hurricane Kevin took a last-minute left and is headed straight for the Bellissimo Resort and Casino in Biloxi, Mississippi.

In breaking news, Undercover Casino Operative Davis Way has one foot out the evacuation door when fifty million dollars disappear, and in its place, a dead body.

In other news, if forced to ride out the storm on the hotel’s thirteenth-floor fortress, Davis won’t be alone. Her husband, Bradley, her best friend, Fantasy, and a crew of highly trained first responders will be hurricane hostages too, along with Mississippi State Gaming Agents, a FEMA agent, an insurance agent, a State Special Agent, and an Emergency Response Agent—at least one of them a double agent.

The good news is her high school reunion is cancelled.

The bad news is everything else.

The fake news features a castaway pig named Bacon.

The hurricane heist headlines will be sensational. If Davis survives to see them. Grab your rain slicker and galoshes for DOUBLE AGENT, A Davis Way Crime Caper, and prepare yourself for a perfect storm of humor, hijinks, and heart.

Read More

Buy Double Agent